My Halloween Top Ten List

I have to say I love Autumn. I’m not made for summer. In fact, I have the opposite of seasonal affective disorder in which individuals become depressed during the winter when there is a limited amount of sunlight. I, like vampires, feel repelled by the sun. Yeah, okay, so I love the beach, but summer weather is for vacations. Living day to day during those hot summer months in Manhattan, walking to and from work, sweating like a pig is not fun. Keep your hot weather, short pants and long days where the sun sets after 8 pm. Give me cool crisp September mornings, orange and yellow leaves scattered on the ground and bowls full of hot creamy soup. I want to wear hats, scarves, and other clothes that conceal my body. Summer to me is nudity with sunscreen. By August I feel like a walking chicken cutlet.

What I love most about the fall is Halloween. Hands down it is my favorite holiday of the year. I always loved dressing up in costumes as a child. Then as a teenager and young adult I created my own characters and make up effects. At an early age I even learned how to use latex thanks to special effects pioneer Tom Savini. NO, he didn’t tutor me personally, but I watched his documentary repeatedly. In my twenties, I made my own horror movies, casting my friends and creating my own gory special effects. Boy, do I miss slitting Janice Anastasio’s throat against my parent’s oak tree or dismembering Karen Lassen with a garage door. We had so much fun back then.

I still dress up for Halloween. This year I’m going as silver Evil Knievel. Chad is going as the gold version.

But more than anything, I grew up loving and fearing horror movies. And so I have put together a list of my top ten and in no particular order. Let me know if you agree or disagree.

1. The Exorcist – Still to this day this movie is like no other. How they got a young Linda Blair to do those things, I’ll never know.

2.The Birds – Yes, I know you would have said Psycho, but watch it again. Hitchcock didn’t even use music, only the sound of those horrible birds.

3. The Changeling – (with George C. Scott not Angelina Jolie) Never before was a grown man terrorized by a little red ball.

4. The Shinning – Forget Jack Nicholson. It was all about those creepy twin girls.

5. Suspiria – Who could forget the trailer with the girl brushing her hair singing, “Roses are red. Violets are blue…” The first time I sat through it I nearly puked. Dario Argento is a master at creating elaborate death sequences that are gory and at the same time wonderfully artful, almost beautiful.

6. Halloween – The original is a classic. Jamie Lee Curtis screaming up at Tommy’s bedroom window to let her in still makes me writhe in my seat.

7. Texas Chainsaw Massacre -Two words – “meat hook”

8. Jaws – That little boy getting eaten on a raft nearly put me in a coma.

9. Alien – Space never felt so futuristic and frightening. Even at the very end, I swore that cat was not to be trusted.

10. Nosferatu – This classic vampire tale left me haunted. The visuals are stunning. Isabel Adjani walking the beach was like watching a Monet.

Honorable mentions go to ‘Salem’s Lot, The Others, Sixth Sense, Carrie, The Legacy, The Fury, The Omen, Rosemary’s Baby, and The Sentinel.

One Comment

  1. phillip
    Posted November 2, 2011 at 8:03 pm | Permalink

    How could you forget the original Night of The Living Dead, the George Romero masterpiece? It scarred me for life as a child when I came across it on television. No movie has scared me since.


Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 899 other followers

