Alvin Ailey

Take me down to the water…I’m still singing. The music, the dancers, Miss Winfrey…it was all so, what did my fried David call it, “Sublime!”img_0317My good friend and couture stylist to the stars, David Ingram, took me to the 50th Anniversary Celebration of the Alvin Ailey American Dance Theater. Honorary chair and honored guest, Oprah Winfrey was there. (I nearly died.) David approved of her gown, thank God. The performances were a retrospective of Mr. Ailey’s greatest work.

In 1958, Mr. Ailey founded his own company, the Alvin Ailey American Dance Theater.  In 1960, he choreographed Revelations, the classic masterpiece of American modern dance based on the religious heritage of his youth, which was performed last night in its enterity.
Although it was not disclosed last night, I read that Mr. Ailey died from complications due to AIDS on December 1, 1989.

img_03181

At Intermission David and I went down to see if we could get a glimpse of O. and ran into some fashion celebs. Some worth mentioning include: the glamorous design team, Badgley Mischka and one of my favorite all time fashion afficianados, Mr. Andre Leon Talley. (He is so tall.)

 

Badgley and Mischka

Badgley and Mischka

 

The super tall and fabulous Andre Leon Talley

The super tall and fabulous Andre Leon Talley

 

 

 

At the end of the show, flowers were presented to all the female dancers. In unison, they turned to the screened behind them projecting a glorious, yellow sun which disolved into a picture of Alvin Ailey. One by one the dancers began resting the flowers down below his image.

“Oh, they’re laying down the flowers in his honor,” said David. “How divine. Could you just die?”

It was pretty divine David. Thank you for inviting me.

One Comment

  1. Larry Flick
    Posted December 7, 2008 at 5:36 pm | Permalink

    It does, indeed, sound like a divine evening. Alvin Alley was a genius who left us far too young in his life.

    That said… why am I now haunted by images of you dancer’s onesy, barefoot, and flailing around on the floor to trial rhythms? 🙂


