A jew for Christmas

Christmas time in New York is magical.

 

Radio City Music Hall

Radio City Music Hall

 

 

The streets are buzzing with pushy shoppers and tourists, (easily identifiable by their oversized sweaters adorned with Santa or a Snow Man), colored lights everywhere, and Christmas music playing all day long.

img_0406img_0407

This year it has been unseasonably warm, which makes me sad because I do love a white Christmas. But I feel fortunate, because I don’t have to travel this holiday. My sister Maria, her husband Marc and all the little M’s: Matthew, Michael, Madeline and Mitchell, will be coming up from Alabama to join my sister Josephine, her husband Joe, Mom and Dad and me to celebrate.

What more could I ask for? Perhaps a lunch date with my idol.

Yes, Virginia there is a Santa Claus, and her name is Meredith.

Today I had lunch with the very woman I have idolized for well over 25 years.  Best selling author, celebrity, lecturer, and infamous sex therapist Dr. Ruth Westheimer. And yes, she is everything I expected and more.

Warm, funny, talkative, and short (even shorter than you might think), but with a personality as big as the season itself.  

We ate at Mr. K’s, one of her famous haunts. They even have chop sticks engraved with her name that they keep just for her. Meredith Kadlec, my lesbian Santa from here TV, organized the lunch. Dr. Ruth was so giving. She showered us with gifts including an orchid, key chains and pens. I was beside myself, and imagine my excitement when she agreed to take a picture with me.

 

The book was her idea... I swear

The book was her idea... I swear

 

After lunch she complained that I didn’t offer her a hug or a kiss when I joined the table, but geez Dr. Ruth, I didn’t want to push the boundaries of our sexual relationship just yet. But in the end I had to oblige. It’s Dr. Ruth for Christmas sake.

 

img_0422

 

After lunch I floated home on a cloud filled with snow and glitter.  It was the best Christmas gift I could have ever hoped for. I intend on pressing that orchid between the pages of my copy of ‘Twas the Night Before Christmas. That way I will only have to open it to remember my day with Dr. Ruth – my idol, my inspiration and hero.

3 Comments

  1. Larry Flick
    Posted December 23, 2008 at 12:04 pm | Permalink

    OMG! What gorgeous shots of you and La Ruth! I’m so excited that you had this wonderful experience. xox

  2. Posted December 25, 2008 at 10:00 pm | Permalink

    Hi Frank —
    I work at Fox News and I am so tired of seeing those huge Christmas lights (in your picture) outside our offices. Wishing you teh best in 2009.

  3. spinellimd
    Posted December 25, 2008 at 10:52 pm | Permalink

    don’t worry they will be gone soon now that Xmas is over.
    Happy New Year


