Not so Happy New Year

I am at work today, and I feel sick. No, I am not hung over from New Years. In fact, this year was just okay. It started off pregnant with possibilities. My friends, Gary and Ron, hosted an amazing dinner at their apartment. Their oven blew up or something happened, and there was melted plastic everywhere. My best friend, Eric and boyfriend, Chad got so drunk they had to be taken home. At 12:05 I was brushing my teeth, reminding myself how much I hate this holiday.
Eric feeling no pain

Eric feeling no pain

Chad right before things go horribly wrong

Chad right before things go horribly wrong

The year ends and we celebrate a new beginning. I get it. But like my father used to say whenever we wanted to celebrate his birthday, “It’s just another day.” I get him now too.
That night as I lay in bed waiting for my sleeping pill to kick in, I wondered, as I often do when I feel down, What is Madonna doing? Then certain questions popped into my head: Is she okay? Is she alone this New Year’s? Will she be able to save Malawi and help fight AIDS?
I hope so.
Madonna can you hear me?

Madonna can you hear me?

As for me, I no longer make resolutions. Sure I want to lose weight and work out more. I’d like to make more money and travel. I am thankful for a good family, friends and wonderful boyfriend. But then why am I always wistful as the new year approaches. I have so much to be thankful for. Perhaps it’s fear of getting older?
All these questions and yet no good answer for any of them.
Maybe next year I’ll go to Africa with Madonna. She’ll take me to Malawi, and I can teach her about HIV. Of course we’ll become best friends. After working in the clinic all day we’ll go back to our huts singing, “Borderline” while holding hands. I’ll have an orphan Malawian on my shoulders. Then on New Years she’ll probably get too drunk, and I will end up brushing my teeth using cow dung on some bark in a hut somewhere out in the bush. But at least I won’t be wondering what Madonna is doing.
Madonna in Malawi and me? Someday.

Madonna in Malawi and me? Someday.

One Comment

  1. mich
    Posted January 3, 2009 at 4:04 am | Permalink

    but, the new year brings one more opportunity to BLOG. its not just another day!


