Sesame Street

“Can you tell me how to get; how to get to Sesame Street?” 

Apparently that means getting on the number 2 train to 174th Street. Yes, that’s right kids. Yours truly was cast as “a doctor” on Sesame Street: Word on the Street. I was hired to help Murray define words while he ran around the Bronx Zoo. Why was there a doctor with a human skeleton walking around the zoo? I didn’t ask. I was just thrilled to be on Sesame Street. 

My words included, HABITAT, HIBERNATION, METAMORPHOSIS and BONE. Correct me if I’m wrong but isn’t Sesame Street for pre-schoolers. These words are hard to define to an adult let alone a child. Anway I managed.

IMG_0687

My prop and costar, Skelly

Taking public transportation to the Bronx posed it’s own set of problems because I don’t use mass transit that often and never as far away as the Bronx. When I got off the train on 174th Street, Dr. Frank quickly realized he wasn’t in Chelsea any more.

IMG_0691

 

Murray and Dr. Frank

It takes two puppeteers to work Murray. During the breaks and in between shots, the puppet is taken off the actor and quickly slipped into a black cloth bag by a muppet handler. That’s to keep the illusion alive. “No on can see a deflated muppet,” I was told. That would be too frightening for a child to witness. But then how do you explain the actor’s legs sticking out of the bottom of Murray’s body?

Oh well, Sesame Street has its own rules. I suppose they know a thing or two about muppets and kids, since they just celebrated their 40th anniversary and are broadcasted in over 120 countries.

Sesame Street has been on the forefront of children’s programming, taking on current events like 911 and casting children of all races, creeds and even some with disabilities. Sesame Street has never shied away from pushing the envelope and in the South African version, Takalani Sesame show, Kami, is the first HIV positive muppet.

kami

Congratulations to to them for being so open minded. California could learn a lot from them.

One Comment

  1. Larry
    Posted June 4, 2009 at 10:05 pm | Permalink

    OMG! My doctor is on Sesame Street. Now if you could get us onto the New Zoo Revue, you’d be a GOD to me!

    Hehehe…

    But seriously, bravo! I hope you’re as proud of yourself as folks like me are of you.


