Autoerotic Asphyxiation

auto

The first time I heard asphxyiation used in conjunction with a sexual practice, I was in a gay bar nearly ten years ago. The man talking to me was describing how enjoyed choking men while having sex. He never used the term autoerotic asphyxiation (if he had, it would have been inappropriate), but I do recall my back straightening with fear as though this man was completely insane. Later when I read about this in the Synopsis of Psychiatry, I thought how naive I must have seemed.

prophylaxis4

Hypoxyphilia is classified as the desire to achieve an altered state of consciousness by decreasing the oxygen supply to the brain while experiencing orgasm. A person may achieve hypoxia or low oxygen levels by using a drug like nitrous oxide or manually by having your partner choke you.

What ever happened to dinner and movie?

Carradine

David Carradine recently passed away, and it has been rumored that his death was a result of asphyxiation secondary to a form of autoerotism, a form of sexual masochism. These practices usually involve masturbating while hanging oneself by the neck to heighten erotic sensations and intensify orgasm by a mild, I repeat mild, sense of hypoxia.

Please do not try this at home.

Although the intention is to release the noose after orgasm, it is estimated that nearly 1,000 persons accidentally die each year. Most are male, and interestingly, transvestism often plays a role, as was alleged in the Carradine case.

I choose to remember Mr. Carradine as the actor, Caine, in Kung Fu or more recently as Bill, in the Kill Bill series, not as some seventy-three year old man hanging from a noose in women’s underwear.

