The wait is over

After two weeks of living with a cast that ran from my left shoulder to nearly my finger tips, the shackle has been removed; and I am free at last. I met with my orthopedist, Dr. Delaney, and he removed that plaster loaf of bread from my arm and replaced it with a very fashionable metal splint. It has a hinge guard at the elbow so that I can’t extend my arm fully. It looks very cyborg-esque. I’m loving it. But what I love more than anything else is that I am able to type and exam patients with both hands.

It really is true what they say about taking the little things for granted. Who knew I would miss my left arm of all things.

On a completely different note, I am proud to announce that Here Media and HealthyWithHIV.com will announce a new partnership encouraging living healthy with HIV.

“The campaign begins Tuesday, September 15th, and includes an on-line video series titled “Ask the Doctor,” featuring popular doctor, author and health expert Dr. Frank Spinelli (The Advocate Guide to Gay Men’s Health and Wellness).”

advocate-taping-08182009

Four segments were filmed earlier this week. My guests included: The Center’s Associate Director of Center CARE Wellness, Andrés Hoyos, and the Director of Mental Health, Katie Douglass from Callen-Lorde Community Health Center’s.

I will be sure to keep you posted on when the videos are available on Advocate.com in September.  In the meantime, check out these community resources:

Center CARE Wellness
Callen-Lorde Community Health Center
Advocate.com Health & Fitness

