Tree Man

“Doctor can you please help me with a wart?”

How many times have I heard that, I ask myself.

Warts, particularly genital warts, plague certain unlucky individuals. Unlucky I say because transmission is through contact via one of the hundreds of subtypes of the human papilloma virus or HPV that can coalesce on the skin and appear as unsightly clusters. Some strains of HPV even cause cancer. However, I have never seen a case of a viral infestation such as this referred to me by a patient who thought I might be interested.

His name is Dede, an Indonesian fisherman who has a rare genetic defect that enables the human papilloma virus to hijack his immune system. He is also known as Tree Man.

2 Comments

  1. Danh
    Posted December 12, 2009 at 10:27 pm | Permalink

    Can’t imagine how horrible it was for him living a life like that….:(

  2. Stephen Reynolds
    Posted December 20, 2009 at 11:57 pm | Permalink

    I first saw this on Nip Tuck


