Adam Lambert

Last week a patient came in with complaints of a very itchy rash on his torso and arms. He was alarmed because several of his friends had the same suspicious rash. Interestingly, they were all my patients. The first one came in last Monday. After examining him, I diagnosed him with Scabies.

“What?” he screamed. “How disgusting. How do I get rid of it?”

Scabies is easily treated with topical permethrin cream which is applied from head to toe before bedtime and then washed off in the morning. The problem with Scabies is that it is easily contracted via contact like sleepin in someone’s infested bed, lying on their couch or rolling around with them during sex. After treatment, it is imperative that you wash all contaminated clothes and linens.

After I treated this patient, then all his friends began lining up outside my office in order to rid themselves of these pesky critters.

Now to shift gears. I like Adam Lambert. His new CD is interesting. He has an amazing voice and quite frankly, I feel he should have won American Idol.

Because of his performance on the American Music Awards, it seems you can’t turn on the television, open a magazine or read a blog, without seeing Adam out and about. Last week, he was spotted at several gay hot spots here in New York City. I won’t mention which one, but I did see him in photo where he is surrounded by a gaggle of gay boys, all of whom I treated for Scabies after the photo was taken!

Now I’m not suggesting that Adam gave them Scabies or perhaps they passed the mites onto him.

BUT, if anyone knows Adam Lambert tell him not to ignore any itchy rashes and get treated for Scabies ASAP!

5 Comments

  1. Gaby
    Posted December 15, 2009 at 1:23 am | Permalink

    Why don’t you tell one of his friends (your patient) to tell him, privately? He’s been under enough fire, don’t you think?

  2. spinellimd
    Posted December 15, 2009 at 12:18 pm | Permalink

    I’m pretty sure it was a photo op. I don’t think my patients know him. But good idea.

  3. Posted January 5, 2010 at 4:50 pm | Permalink

    Dr. Spinelli, you should know that Scabies are a burrowing parasite that cause infection by breaking through the skin.

    The term “Crabs” generally refers to the public lice parasite which is a different animal. Although they do bite to take blood, and they itch, they do not burrow nor lay eggs under the skin nor do they typically lead to infection.

    Regular public lice can be cured with otc remedies like RID and other delousing lotions and potions.

    I stumbled upon your blog over the holidays. I like it.

    Phillip

  4. Posted January 5, 2010 at 4:51 pm | Permalink

    HAHAHA I meant PUBIC lice but I guess they are PUBLIC in a way as well šŸ™‚

  5. spinellimd
    Posted January 6, 2010 at 9:09 pm | Permalink

    Thanks we both stand corrected.


