BDSM again?

I’ve hit the ground running this year. Professionally I predict there will be some exciting changes in the months ahead. As far as patients are concerned, life goes on and so do the stories.

John, a 54-year-old male comes in with complaints of testicular pain. On exam, I notice several small circular lesions surrounding his pubic region. “Is this what you were referring to?” I asked.

“Oh, no,” he said. “Those are burn marks from my master’s cigar.”

“Master?”

“Yes, I’ve finally found the perfect BDSM ( bondage, discipline, sadomasochism) master after searching for years.”

“Well I would imagine it’s not like getting a free toaster oven when you open up a savings account.”

“No, not at all.”

“And the cigar burns… that’s something you enjoy?”

“It’s part of it.”

“May I ask you a few questions? I’m intrigued because you’re not the first patient I’ve had that’s mentioned BDSM.”

“Please, fire away. No pun intended.”

“Are you always in the role of the submissive?”

“It’s not a role. It’s a way of life.”

“I stand corrected,” I said. “But isn’t it exhausting to be submissive all the time? Taking orders? Begging?

“He stays with me three to four days a week,” he said. “So I have some days when I’m alone, but when he’s home with me, I obey him.”

“Like how?”

“Well, I like to talk a lot, and if he’s had enough, he’ll say, ‘Shut up’ or he’ll burn me with a cigar. You know, to get my attention.”

“Sure. I suppose if someone came at me with fire, I’d shut up too.”

BDSM is intriguing to me as are the men, I’ve met, who make up this subculture. It does scare me, but then again, aren’t we all frightened of things we don’t understand?

In the end, my patient had a small hernia. I referred him to a surgeon. “Thanks,” he said as he pulled up his pants.

“Take care of those burns,” I said.

“Don’t worry,” he winked. “You should see the whip marks on my back.”

One Comment

  1. Posted January 19, 2010 at 12:37 pm | Permalink

    I don’t understand this and it is scary too. I would assume you struggle with NOT recommend psychological therapy but if someone is content…what are you going to do?

    It is a strange world we live in…


