Papa bears having children

Papa can you hear me?

Scott Moore is due to give birth in February. Moore was born a female and is undergoing gender reassignment surgery to change his sex. Scott Moore is legally a female and yes, he still has a uterus, ovaries, fallopian tubes and a vagina.

You may remember that in 2008, Thomas Beatie gave birth to a girl. He made headlines after he took those nude photos alla Demi Moore and was featured on Oprah. Beatie had his breasts surgically removed and legally changed his gender to male ten years earlier. The law allows women to legally change their gender once they initiate gender reassignment even though, he left his uterus and vagina intact. Despite years of hormone therapy and living outwardly as a man, Beatie claims he retained his female sex organs because he intended to conceive one day.

‘I feel it’s not a male or female desire to have a child. It’s a human need. I’m a person and I have the right to have a biological child,’ he told the Oprah Winfrey Show.

“Good for you,” I say.

Yet is it human right to bear a child if you are capable?

That is truly the question. Then again, are these so-called men really just a bunch of jacked up woman on ‘roids?

Women who undergo gender reassignment often have to make complicated decisions.  Chastity Bono, is undergoing this very process. She will have to decide on a mastectomy, a hysterectomy, hormone replacement and ultimately, the creation of a penis (although all women do not take this final step).

But what about all that testosterone? Does it have any effect on an unsuspecting fetus? Well, of course it does. Testosterone can have a virilizing effect on an unborn child, even if the mother says she’s ceased treatment while pregnant. And by virilization; I mean masculinization. Perhaps that’s why it was so difficult for Beatie to find a doctor to help him conceive his child.

So Beatie and Moore may contend that it is their right to bear a child, but I ask you, what if that child develops birth defects due to hypertestosteronemia? What then?

I guess my concern is that we’ve all witnessed the horror of certain women who have run amuck with their uteruses. Recently Nadya Suleman celebrated her octuplets first birthday. Her doctor is currently being investigated for taking part in their conception.

But don’t get me wrong; I support Roe vs. Wade.  Yet, I can’t help but wonder that if all these women really wanted was to have a child then why didn’t they maintain their privacy? Then again, I’m just a cold, insensitive, childless man who doesn’t have a uterus to stand on. 

As far as the F to M community, I wonder if this new wave of child-bearing among pseudo-men will produce a new subspecies of children. One that is more androgynous, more aggressive, more alla Children of the Damned or dare I say, Spawn of Chucky.

