Breast milk dessert

In August 2007, Chad and I went on a blind date. Together we discovered a new Austrian restaurant on 9th Avenue called Klee. Chef Daniel Angerer and his wife had just opened the restaurant. We had such a great experience that night and have gone back numerous times. We’ve even gotten to know the Chef and his wife, Lori Mason, who recently had a baby.

Today Chef Daniel Angerer told the New York Post that he is giving his patrons a taste of his wife’s breast milk. “It tastes like cow’s-milk cheese, kind of sweet.” I was completely thrown off by this comment when I read it today. I knew he was an inventive chef. He even beat out Chef Bobby Flay in an Iron Chef competition where the mystery ingredient was beer, but I had no idea how truly resourceful he was. Chef Daniel went on to say, “The phone was ringing off the hook. So I prepared a little canapé of breast-milk cheese with figs and Hungarian pepper.”

Daniel’s main supplier, his wife, is happy to help her husband out. “I’m not here to walk people through their psychological problems,” she said. “I think a lot of the criticism has to do with the combination of sex and cheese, but the breast is there to make food.”

True, but it is a little disconcerting to consume breast milk. I don’t want to even drink my own mother’s breast milk. Unfortunately, Mason’s assessment is astute. I do mistakenly link breast milk with sex. It’s an Oedipal association.  But Mason is also correct with regard to her response. Breast milk is a nutritious resource. I’m just not sure she should be sharing it with her patrons.

The topic of breast-feeding has always been controversial. Public breast-feeding is often frowned upon in this country, and when should mothers stop breast-feeding? I can recall a particularly gruesome attack on Lindsay Wagner, TV’s Bionic Woman, when she admitted to breast-feeding her children well past two years of age. Her response was that breast milk was far more nutritious and available than providing her children with sweets, carbonated beverages and junk food. “She’s nuts,” said Mrs. Benevento, my mother’s friend. “She’s breast feeding so her tits stay big.” That was one hypothesis. “I don’t breast feed if my child can ask for the bottle themselves,” offered Mrs. Comparo, my mother’s other best friend. “And what about the teeth?”

I’d rather not think about the teeth or the breast milk. Women should breast feed their children as  they see fit. I don’t particularly want to see it happen, but that’s my problem. I can always look away. So congrats to the Angerers on their new addition. I look forward to eating in their restaurant again. I’m not having the canape’. Incidentally, the Department of health has issued a statement, warning Angerer that breast milk cheese is not for public consumption. Just as well.

One Comment

  1. Posted March 9, 2010 at 10:29 pm | Permalink

    This is a little stomach churning to me. I just saw an article about the protein content of semen and whether or not it should be thought of as nutrition..

    ewww..


