Head first

Although it has been proven that music soothes the savage beast, it also helps to alleviate mood in bestial human beings. During these difficult and troubling times, I have never encountered more patients in my career who present with the same common complaints, fatigue and stress.

Fatigue can stem from any number of causes, insomnia, depression and even hypothyroidism. But other than prescribing stimulants and counseling, what can I do other than encourage supportive therapy?

Last week a patient passed out while my assistant took his blood. He turned completely pale, almost blue, broke out into a sweat and then shook uncontrollably. This scary and sometimes common reaction to phlebotomy called a vasovagal response happens every so often. My assistant and I placed him in reverse Trendelenburg to raise his legs above his head so that the blood could rush back to his brain, and soon he was back to his normal self. Jokingly, I asked, “Where did you go?

His response, “I can’t tell you but in time I will.”

The next day, another patient passed out after I told him he needed surgery for a hernia repair. Same thing happened: pale as a ghost, sweat oozing from every pore, and complete loss of consciousness for a several seconds. After he came to, I asked, “So where did you go?”

He responded, “I feel like everything is turning inside out.”

Two weird responses in two days. I took it as an omen, a sign of the times.

Then today some hope. Obama’s health care bill passed.

In the meantime, if you want to lift your spirits may I suggest you get yourself a copy of Goldfrapp’s new CD, Head First. I’ve been listening to it all weekend and I feel, dare I say it? Happy. My other recommendation is Sade’s new CD, Soldier of Love.

3 Comments

  1. Posted March 22, 2010 at 8:31 pm | Permalink

    yes the Obama bill passed thank god, now no one has to go bankrupte to hiv like i did

  2. Posted March 23, 2010 at 11:45 am | Permalink

    Thanks for the music tips. I luv both of those artists!

  3. Jason
    Posted March 31, 2010 at 1:36 am | Permalink

    Love Goldfrapp! You’ve got great musical taste.


