Times Square bomber

This man owes me a glass of Pinot Grigio

May 4, 2010: police arrested Faisal Shahzad, a Pakistani-American after he was apprehended on a midnight flight to Dubai. According to authorities Shahzad purchased an SUV off of Craig’s List, paying for it with cash. Then he drove it to Times Square Saturday evening, leaving it parked in anticipation that his make shift bomb, reportedly consisting of firecrackers, would detonate gallons of gasoline.

“Based on what we know so far, it is clear that this was a terrorist plot aimed at murdering Americans in one of the busiest places in our country,” said Attorney General Eric Holder.

Others have suggested that this plot was intended for Viacom, which has an office located near West 45th Street.  South Park, which airs on Comedy Central, and is distributed by Viacom, recently ran an episode which depicted the prophet Muhammed. Muslim Extremist have threatened South Park creators. The posting on Revolutionmuslim.com stated: “We have to warn Matt and Trey that what they are doing is stupid and they will probably wind up like Theo Van Gogh for airing this show. This is not a threat, but a warning of the reality of what will likely happen to them.”

If that’s not a threat than I don’t know what one is.

My question is how did this 30-year-old get all this cash? Sure I suppose he wasn’t acting alone and this bomb was funded by Muslim Extremist. And what’s the deal with Dubai? I read that homosexuality is a crime in Dubai. That upsets me because I also heard that  Sex and the City 2 takes place in Dubai? Why would Carrie and the girls want to promote a location that outlaws homosexuality, particularly when gays make up a huge number of their fan base?

Anyway that Pakistani-American owes me a glass of Pinot Grigio. I had to pay ten dollars for a glass of wine at the Music Box Theater while I was detained by police the night of the explosion. You think the Music Box Theater would have given us all a free drink. I mean really. Can you believe they asked me for ten bucks while the threat of a bomb lingered just outside their doors?

All joking aside, what I find most interesting is that New Yorkers live with the threat of terrorism since 911, and we don’t stop for one minute to take it all in. We just go on with our lives. I wonder if that is the healthiest way to react to such threats? Perhaps we should really stop for a minute and think about what all this violence does to us internally.

On a daily basis I take care of men and women who are depressed, more so since 911. New Yorkers want to act tough but sometimes we have aknowledge our frailty.

We’re only human.

One Comment

  1. Posted May 4, 2010 at 11:14 pm | Permalink

    Wow, I was just thinking about that. Hmmm.

    It is an interesting question and I wonder what Marina Abramovic would say about SSRI’s…

    That makes a good joke but in reality it is something I would like to discuss with her.

    It can be a balancing act.

    Acting carelessly in the face of danger is either stupid or a case of denial.

    …as opposed to a fear of flying.

    How do we measure fear when not in the face of imminent danger?

    we compare ourselves to others to measure this.

    When fear exists in a “what if” scenario, or is free floating…

    How much of this fear should we tolerate before we consider it unnatural and use a medication to fight against.

    Where does “will” and either endurance or determination or fear of any alternative come into play…

    Is there something that can be called “faith” (not religious specifically, but the “anti-fear” portion) that we can rely on?

    Inquiring minds want to know.

    Thanks for posting this, you did your homework. I forgot all about South Park…

    Whew… I feel so much better 😉


