Beyond Betrayal

Woody Allen needs to shut up.

While in Cannes the old fart decided to add his two cents to the Roman Polanski controversy. “It’s something that happened many years ago,” Allen said of Polanski’s sex scandal during an interview with French radio station RTL. “He has suffered, he has not been allowed to go to the United States. He was embarrassed by the whole thing.”

Embarrassed!

I’m sorry Woody. I’m really sorry this sexual predator pleaded guilty to having sex with a 13-year old girl in 1977 after admitting to drugging her. Polanski is now fighting extradition from Switzerland to the United States. It must be embarrassing for him not to mention embarrassing to the United States for allowing him to flee. We should all be so upset for Mr. Polanski. I mean he’s paid his dues. Right? Whatever that means. Woody Allen’s two cents are about as worthless as having KKK members suporting Adolph Hitler. Wasn’t Woody Allen the man who seduced his long time partner’s own adopted daughter?

Yes, we should all listen to Mr. Allen because he is a pillar of morality and ethics. Sure he, like Mr. Polanski, have made tremendous works of art, and there lies the conundrum for me. How do I judge the man as a person who has provided me with some of the most influential pieces of film I have ever had the opportunity to see?

The answer is I don’t. I’m not a judge and neither is Mr. Allen. So stick to making films, and I’ll stick to taking care of patients. But as a victim of child molestation I can tell you that time does not heal all wounds. Mr. Polanski’s victim openly states she wishes the whole case be put to rest. She also settled for an undisclosed amount. And for the record, she doesn’t get to make that decision either. The courts do. I wonder if Mr. Allen knew another victim has come forward with allegations that Mr. Polanski allegedly abused British actress, Charlotte Lewis –  “in the worst way possible” when she was cast in one of his movies at 16?

Woody Allen should shut his face. Why don’t you ask Mia Farrow what she thinks of all this? Ask her how she felt when she found erotic photos of her adopted daughter Soon Yi-Previn taken by you, the upstanding film director who apparently feels that justice is served by spending time in exile in Paris making films and should be absolved when the abuser is sufficiently embarrassed.

6 Comments

  1. Posted May 18, 2010 at 3:20 pm | Permalink

    Heartily agree. It is a rarefied form of “suffering” that Mr. Polansky has undergone, the poor thing, trapped in one of his homes. He should be embarrassed, he should be dreadfully ashamed in fact, he should hang his head and be grateful that decent people will have anything to do with him while he’s on the run, let alone speak in his defense.

  2. Larry Flick
    Posted May 18, 2010 at 3:58 pm | Permalink

    It’s fascinating to me how some people think fame and a small amount of talent elevates them to a place on the planet where they can do whatever the hell they want. To hear one despicable waste of human life defend another despicable waste of human life makes my blood boil.

    Without their fame, you have two ugly men who wouldn’t see a naked woman without a wad of cash in their hands. Disgusting.

  3. Von
    Posted May 18, 2010 at 7:10 pm | Permalink

    Woody Allen should shut up. He is a well known pedophile. His thoughts on pedophilia should not be considered nor entertained. Anyone with a brain knows that he was having sex with Soon-Yi well before she was 18 years old. How could someone leave their long time companion for their companion’s child that they helped raise. Woody Allen has a serious lack of ethics and morality. Doc, I think I saw at the AIDS Walk on Sunday morning. You were wearing a sleeveless t-shirt. Also, you were with two men. You entered the park at 59th Street. Can you please email me and tell me if that was you because, I wanted to come over to say hello, but I wasn’t sure if that was you.

  4. spinellimd
    Posted May 18, 2010 at 7:25 pm | Permalink

    Thank you for your thoughtful comments. I did not attend the AIDS walk this year.
    Take care

  5. pognyc
    Posted May 21, 2010 at 9:24 am | Permalink

    I couldn’t agree more. I am shocked at Woody, again!

  6. FortWorthGuy
    Posted May 24, 2010 at 5:43 pm | Permalink

    Is anyone going go step up and condemn Mr. Allen for (paraphrasing here) wanting BHO to be able to run the country as a dictator for a period of time because he could do so much good this way? Sorry I do not have the exact quote in front of me.


