Women of Rock

What was it Sandra Bernhard said in her one woman show?

“Gimme a good ole big tittie woman of Rock n Roll.”

I couldn’t agree more.

Growing up I listened to Bat Benatar, Joan Jett and of course, Heart. These women are Rock n Roll icons, and like Sandra Bernard continued, “They lived it. They snorted it. They fucked it.”

This past weekend I revisited my youth by watching the Runaways, the movie based on the band of the same name, starring Dakota Fanning and Kirsten Stewart. This all-girl band was the first of its kind. Unfortunately, the lead singer Cherie Curry dropped out, but Joan Jett went on as a solo artist with her band the Black Hearts. The Runaways, directed by Floria Sigismondi, the Canadian artist/director who is known for her work with Marilyn Mason, did a great job capturing the innocence of the 70’s.

Storm Large with her band

Saturday night, Chad and I went to Joe’s Pub to listen to Storm Large. (Yes, that’s her real name). A stunning woman who looks like Lindsay Lohan but sings like Alice Ripley on crack. Standing nearly six feet tall, she is an  amazon woman of Rock n Roll who more people should know about. For over ninety minutes she took us on a musical journey of her “fucked up” life (a word she uses and sings about often). Storm will take you by storm, and she is not for the squeamish, singing about sex, drugs and fisting. I kid you not. So listen up all you Pink and Lady Ga Ga fans: you want to hear an amazing voice; step into Storm’s world. Rock n Roll saved her life, she told the audience, from heroin and abusive men with cocks like pepper mills.

Then she went into an amazing cover of Bat Benatar’s, Heartbreaker, followed by a twisted Alice Cooper rendition of Olivia Newton-John’s,  Hopelessly Devoted to You. She ended her set with her own hysterical song, My Vagina is 8 Miles Wide. “A place”, she sang, “where you can run and hide. It’s Vi-gantic!”

I hope she returns from her trip abroad and settles somewhere in New York. Off-Broadway is my prediction.

And finally Chad and I will end our musical journey of the woman of rock by taking in Ann and Nancy Wilson from Heart, at the Hammerstein Ballroom on Tuesday. I can’t wait.

One Comment

  1. Lair
    Posted August 7, 2010 at 1:54 pm | Permalink

    Jealousy does not even begin to desribe how I feel about this. I bet it was Amazing!


