Weight Loss

Larry Flick

My dear friend and patient, Larry Flick, the host of Sirius Radio’s, Morning Jolt partnered with me five weeks ago to improve his overall health. Larry has what I call the trifecta of serious medical conditions: uncontrolled diabetes, uncontrolled high blood pressure, and high cholesterol. After his full physical six weeks ago, I told Larry that within five years he was going to either have a stroke, a heart attack or both. At six feet tall and 328 pounds, Larry was on the verge of death. After a lengthy conversation, which included talk about gastric bypass and the lap band procedure, Larry decided to meet with me once a week for weigh ins and blood work in conjunction with dieting and exercise.

Five weeks later, he has dropped 17 pounds. I have reduced his long acting insulin requirements, and he no longer needs medication to control his cholesterol.

I have been on air with him every two weeks to report updates on his medical condition. Today I was especially proud to present him with a membership to New York Sports Club, donated by Lisa Hufcut and Christopher Coronato. “This clearly is in line with our mission,” said NYSC general manager Coronato, “Improving Lives Through Exercise!”

The only two modifiable risk factors that every individual has the power to control in order to reduce their risk for stroke and heart attacks is weight loss and smoking cessation. I am so proud of my friend Larry.

11 Comments

  1. Posted September 10, 2010 at 6:34 pm | Permalink

    To have you in my corner and so committed to keeping me alive and happy is the greatest gift a man can receive. I am changing my life… and I am getting immeasurable inspiration from you.

    Thank you.

  2. Charles Lewis
    Posted September 10, 2010 at 7:06 pm | Permalink

    I’ve been waiting 5 years for him to get it together. Good job.

  3. James colburn
    Posted September 10, 2010 at 7:13 pm | Permalink

    He has been working hard doc. Very proud of your work Larry. Everything you do doc changes lives. Thank You also.

  4. Peter Prado
    Posted September 10, 2010 at 7:19 pm | Permalink

    I love when you are on Larry Flick’s Morning Jolt. You always offer helpful information with a down to earth feel. My doctor at times is amazed by my understanding when he’s explaining my test results at my appointments.
    Larry’s determination and your insight gives me the boost I sometimes may need to pursue a continued healthy life.
    Sincerely,
    Peter

  5. Tim
    Posted September 10, 2010 at 7:33 pm | Permalink

    I am a big fan of Larry’s and believe it is very brave of him to put himself out there to be an example for us all. I am 56 years old & have high cholesterol which unmedicated shoots to over 300, even with a 40# weight loss & regular exercise. I’ve been on a statin since my early 40’s. Now I just wish I could re-lose some
    Of the weight I have re-gained. This is inspiring me to decrease the food a bit and look at balance.

    Thanks for all your hard work!

    Tim

  6. Posted September 10, 2010 at 10:04 pm | Permalink

    Always appreciate your appearances on Larry’s show. I sure would like having a doc like you! Don’t have weight issues but really like the approach you’ve taken with Larry.

  7. Mike Reed
    Posted September 11, 2010 at 12:41 am | Permalink

    Doctor Frank,
    I listen to you every time your on The morning Jolt. Your advice is very good and I am thnking of getting my doctor to do the same thing you are having Larry do. I am at 245 lbs and want to lose a lot of weight also. Is there somewhere I can get a copy of the program you have Larry On? Any help you can give me would be great.
    Cheers
    Mike Reed
    Edmonton Canada

  8. Chris
    Posted September 11, 2010 at 10:43 am | Permalink

    Larry – CONGRATULATIONS on the great progress you’ve made so far, it’s inspiring, and can’t wait to see you reach your goals!

    Dr. Frank – thank you for taking the time to appear on Larry’s show. You have an engaging, honest approach that really is a pleasure to listen to.

  9. Posted September 11, 2010 at 5:31 pm | Permalink

    Thanks both for sharing this story – it’s courageous for Larry to be so open and honest about his problems and i’m so happy that he is moving in the right direction. it’s rare that a doctor is also a friend, and he’s lucky to have you in his corner.

  10. Posted September 12, 2010 at 1:18 am | Permalink

    Good for you Dr. Frank and for Larry. I’m so proud of Larry and so glad you’re helping him. 🙂

  11. Shannon
    Posted September 12, 2010 at 1:38 pm | Permalink

    Your dedication and Larry’s hard work are inspiring! Best wishes for continued success!


