Breakfast Burrito

Ingredients

2 egg whites, with a dash of yolk for color, but be conscious of your own cholesterol value. My total cholesterol is 170.

2 strips turkey bacon, low-fat but has high sodium so be conscious if you are hypertensive or have high blood pressure.

1 slice of Veggie Slices, a soy based food that is good for melting. My pick is Cheddar flavor with jalapeno. Each slice is individually wrapped and has NO cholesterol or lactose.

1 low carb-low fat wrap

Directions

Frying pan on the stove to heat it up on medium to low heat. Spray the pan with low fat cooking spray. Lay the bacon on the pan and cook until golden brown. Remove bacon. I clean my pan. Sometimes, if I’m lazy and I’m in a hurry, I scramble the eggs directly in the pan. Chad would kill me because the grease tends to turn eggs a brownish color. I don’t mind but he does. After you cook your eggs, remove them and lay the wrap in the pan. In the center of the wrap, place your scrambled, cooked eggs in the center along a line and place your crispy bacon on top. You can either tear up your Veggie Slices, like I do, or simply place the slice on top and then fold the edges of the wrap on to themselves. Press down firmly so that the slice melts and adheres to your eggs and bacon. Remove from pan and eat. I swear, it’s easy and delicious. So delicious that I ate it before I got to take a picture of it. I love dry, crunchy food, but Chad is more the moist and juicy. So I add a dollop of salsa to his plate so he can dip his burrito into the salsa in between bites.

About 300 calories

10 Comments

  1. Danh
    Posted September 11, 2010 at 12:58 pm | Permalink

    doctors have time to cook?!? 😉

  2. spinellimd
    Posted September 11, 2010 at 1:36 pm | Permalink

    Any chance I get.

  3. Posted September 11, 2010 at 10:35 pm | Permalink

    Sounds delish!

  4. Peter Prado
    Posted September 12, 2010 at 12:08 pm | Permalink

    I did’nt have a low carb-low fat wrap so I used the same ingredients and made an omlet style version. topped it off with a little faux sour cream using a nonfat version of plain greek yogurt with freshly chopped chives.
    Very tasty! Have to use the wraps for next time.
    Thanks

  5. spinellimd
    Posted September 12, 2010 at 1:23 pm | Permalink

    That was a great idea. You can also substitute chunks of chicken for bacon and it’s just as good. Also, low fat greek yogurt is very good even by itself with fruit or to top off a meal like you suggested. There are only 130 calories in an entire 170 gram serving of Chobani plain Greek yogurt, but it also has 17 grams of protein. All you need is a table spoon. Delish!

  6. Peter Prado
    Posted September 12, 2010 at 2:04 pm | Permalink

    Love Chobani plain greek yogurt with some fresh fruit. When fresh fruits are not available I mix in a TB spoon of sugar-free fruit preserves. I have a friend that told me sugar-free jams/perserves are not very good. your thoughts when you have a chance.
    Thanks 🙂
    PS would using turkey sausage for the burrito be good too?

  7. Posted September 13, 2010 at 8:36 am | Permalink

    I tend to be a nice steaming hot bowl of Cream of Wheat in the morning type of person.

  8. mich lyon
    Posted September 13, 2010 at 1:42 pm | Permalink

    oh my god . . . brilliant. you must add a cooking segment to your show!

  9. Posted September 24, 2010 at 9:08 pm | Permalink

    Hi Doc, if you know anything about those FUEL 5 or 7 hour energy shots that are suddenly so popular I would love to hear your opinion, or the experiences of your patients…

    phillip

  10. spinellimd
    Posted October 4, 2010 at 7:31 am | Permalink

    If I remember correctly FUEL 5 or 7 hour energy drinks have high doses of caffeine. So be careful.


