GLAAD Auction

Tonight Chad and I attended the GLAAD Auction hosted by Bravo TV realty star, Jill Zarin. Chad and I bought VIP tickdets but quickly realized that meant hanging out with the herd. By the time we got there, one hour into the party, there were no mixers left, and no food. Okay, well it’s for a good cause anyway. The art was an interesting mix of photography, paintings, and other medium. My favorite was a two headed skeleton done with coffee on paper.

I got to meet the artist and honoree, David LaChapelle, and writer and reality star, Josh Kilmer Purcell. All the New York Housewives were on hand, including Romano and Kelly Bensimone. As well as Sheree from the Atlanta Housewives. We didn’t bid on anything. Although Dr. Alan Fard picked up a wonderful photograph of Madonna by David LaChapelle. At one point Jesse Archer walked by with three drinks in her hand. “How did you get those?” I asked. He flashed me his braclet and smiled, “Gold, darling.” Damn it. I hate this heirarchy. All I wanted was a drink and maybe a crab cake. The evening was fine. We left and I stopped off at the grocery store and made dinner when we got home. It’s all good GLAAD.

LaChapelle muse, Amanda Lapore, was looking mighty fine.

4 Comments

  1. JEFF
    Posted November 22, 2010 at 3:42 pm | Permalink

    Ran across your blog comment about the event last night. Was VIP as well and soon found out it simply means GLAAD got more money out of me. But as you say, for a good cause. Running out of booze and virtually no food was a bit annoying, the imposed class system of bracelets was disappointing…the drinks were a mere velvet rope away!

  2. spinellimd
    Posted November 22, 2010 at 4:00 pm | Permalink

    I felt duped, marching up to the velvet rope, only to be pushed aside so Sheree could get passed me. Those poor bartenders had nothing but apologies to offer. Oh well.

  3. MJ
    Posted November 23, 2010 at 2:04 am | Permalink

    And the “art” was awful beyond belief. But, believe me, the crowd this year was classier than the lowlife bunch last year (though that wasn’t hard to beat). I don’t think GLAAD can run anything with any class.

  4. Posted December 16, 2010 at 3:31 pm | Permalink

    Hello DFS, Why is there a picture of Jill Zarin on your site? Why? why? why? Id rather the countess or the sonia lady? Im not a fan auntie.
    “Im not happy…”


