Caulk Criminal

My phlebotomist, Sheniqua, routinely asks me to inject Sculptra, a haluronic acid filler used to increase volume in the faces of men and women who have lipoatrophy secondary to HIV, into her butt so she can have the booty she’s always dreamed of. I roll my eyes every time she says this because on one hand, I know she’s half-joking but on the other hand because I think it’s a ridiculous request. Unfortunately, I have heard stranger requests from some patients and friends. I respond to them in a similar manner: roll eyes, purse lips and then the obligatory, “Why?”

So you think I wouldn’t bat an eye when I read an article about one New Jersey woman, plus-sized model Anivia Cruz-Dalworth, who was arrested for injecting several women in their buttocks using bathroom caulk.

Ms. Cruz-Dalworth is not a doctor nor is she licensed to perform cosmetic procedures, which she did in her own bathroom. This begs the question, how desperate are some people to undergo cosmetic procedures at a discount rate that they could be enticed to check in to Ms. Cruz-Dalworth’s bathroom for some booty injections using a thick, white substance she called, “hydro-gel?”

According to court documents, Anivia Cruz-Dilworth  told the women that she was a trained professional and that she would inject them with a substance the 28-year-old called “hydro-gel,” which is supposed to enhance the buttock. Instead, the New Brunswick resident injected her clients with a silicone sealant, the very same material used to caulk bathtubs. The injection sites were also sealed with Krazy Glue.

Now before you head over to your local hardware store you might want to know what happened to these people after they were injected with silicone. The human body rejects foreign substances like plastic or caulk. Most of the women Ms. Cruz-Dilworth injected developed skin necrosis and were forced to have surgery to remove the caulk and the damaged surrounding tissue in order to prevent gangrene. Incidentally, Ms. Cruz-Dalworth was charging her clients $1,000 for the procedure, a discount if you consider what a plastic surgeon charges to inject FDA approved fillers. Unfortunately, caulk does not dissolve over time, and these poor women ultimately lost a substantial amount of those booties they were so desperate to enhance.

Now I don’t know about you, but my bathroom isn’t large enough that I could fit a table. I can’t help but imagine that Ms. Cruz-Dilworth performed this procedure with these women bent over her bathroom sink. And then to top it off, she only charged them a $1,000 bucks. How neighborly of her.

Dalworth has been charged with three counts of practicing medicine without a license.  As for the women who had their butts caulked: all are expected to make a full recovery. Only their egos remain damaged permanently.

One Comment

  1. Posted December 13, 2010 at 7:07 pm | Permalink

    That’s a coincidence I spent my whole Sunday having my bathtub caulked.


