Gay Cure App

I kind of love my iPhone. It looks cool, the camera takes great pictures and there are all these apps you can buy that do really cool things. One of my favorite apps is the Hipstamatic camera. It allows you to take photos with different grainy qualities and interesting color shades. My favorite game is Hanged, which is hang man but with a dreary cartoon love affair. I’m not a big app buyer, but I do browse the App Store when I’m bored.
 
So you can imagine my shock when I read about an app that encourages, “”the freedom to grow into heterosexuality” for those who are gay or transgender. Apple has come under fire for approving the app called, Exodus International, which is the name of the organization which describes itself as “the world’s largest ministry to individuals and families impacted by homosexuality. With over 35 years of ministry experience, Exodus is committed to encouraging, educating and equipping the Body of Christ to address the issue of homosexuality with grace and truth.”
 
I keep forgetting the body I inhabit was loaned to me by Jesus. Luckily, Exodus International has a cure to keep me from burning in hell in the form of an app I can buy with my iPhone. Now that’s technology. But it’s more than that, contends social activist group Change.org, which along with Truth Wins Out, which “fights anti-gay religious extremism,” is behind a petition drive against what is being dubbed the “gay cure” app.
 
“Exodus’ message is hateful and bigoted,” says Change.org. “They claim to offer ‘freedom from homosexuality through the power of Jesus Christ’ and use scare tactics, misinformation, stereotypes and distortions of LGBT life to recruit clients. They endorse the use of so-called ‘reparative therapy’ to ‘change’ the sexual orientation of their clients, despite the fact that this form of ‘therapy’ has been rejected by every major professional medical organization including the American Psychological Association, the American Medical Association, and the American Counseling Association. But reparative therapy isn’t just bad medicine — it’s also very damaging to the self-esteem and mental health of its victims.”
 
On Exodus International’s website, the organization says it “upholds heterosexuality as God’s creative intent for humanity, and subsequently views homosexual expression as outside of God’s will.” Exodus cites homosexual tendencies as one condition that “beset fallen humanity.”
 
And here I am thinking the fall of humanity lies in the hands of religious extremists who blow themselves up in the name of their god. I guess it’s how you look at it?
 
When my father died, the priest residing over his funeral mass told my mother that even though my dad went to church every day, he still wasn’t in heaven yet. He instructed us to pray for my father every day in order to secure his place with God. Apparently getting into heaven is harder than getting a reservation at Minetta Tavern or Waverly Inn. Or was the priest merely preying on our grief as a way to secure our asses into church every Sunday?
 
Humanity is falling all around us like rotten apps from Apple’s tree.
 
While no one can change what Exodus International believes, we can force Apple to pull this app from its store. Please visit Change.org and sign the petition.
 
4 Comments

  1. Posted March 22, 2011 at 6:47 pm | Permalink

    I am asking a friend who has designed apps for iphone to create one that makes people areligious and erases “unnatural”, learned religious guilt. U should send Apple a letter and tell them u are going back to Windows.. then take some Windows classes. Its not hard to use a PC, as when u own a car, u are much better off if u can maintain and do simple repairs urself. 🙂

  2. William McClain
    Posted March 22, 2011 at 7:31 pm | Permalink

    I do not think this App should be pulled. I think it falls under freedom of speech. I read some of the postings on the free app in the apple store. To me it seems like stories from confused individuals regarding sexuality. Maybe these persons were truly never gay. I know I am gay, and I think I know others that are truly gay. It doesn’t mean this is so for everyone. Being gay is not a choice, I firmly believe this, but perhaps these individuals were mistaken. I did not find anything in this site that could be considered hate speech. These people have their religious belief that is defended in the constitution. My favorite quote from Benjamin Franklin is, “I may not agree with what you say, but I will defend with my life your right to say it.” Lets not fall into the trap of being hypocritical, we expect people to respect our right to live our lives the way we wish, don’t deny others to do the same even if it’s not what we think they should do.

  3. Posted March 23, 2011 at 11:00 am | Permalink

    Freedom of Speech rules, that is why Gay people should boycott Apple. It worked with Levi’s 501s and it worked with Florida Orange Juice in the 70’s.

    Freedom of speech. But money walks and people listen 🙂

  4. Posted March 23, 2011 at 11:04 am | Permalink

    Levi 501s were not boycotted, I actually don’t know the history but I have HEARD that as the “gay” jean in the 70’s we helped somehow in making Levi very rich.


