Oscars 2013

Every year I look forward to the Oscars as though it were Christmas and yet, this year, I find myself not so excited. Usually, I would be creating ballots for all of us to fill in so that on Oscar night, when we’re all at my friends’ Eric and  Scott’s apartment, we can cheer for our picks. Except this year, I’ll be on a plane coming home from Arizona. 

How did that happen you ask?

I don’t know, and for some reason, I don’t really mind. 

Of course, I want to see how Seth MacFarlane does. I’m sure he’ll be hilarious. It’s just that over the years, I feel like the Oscars are fixed somehow. Movies I thought were amazing seem to have been neglected all together, like Perks of Being a Wallflower. I understand it’s hard for small movies to compete with big blockbusters with producers who campaign heavily, but after reading some of the nominees, I sat there scratching my head in confusion.

To keep up the tradition, I will list my Oscar picks including who will win and who I feel should win. As an extra bonus, I’ve included those who should have been nominated.

Best Picture

Winner will be Argo. Should win, Life of Pi

Best Actor

Winner will be Daniel Day-Lewis. Joaquin Phoenix should win.

Best Actress

Winner will be Jennifer Lawrence. In my opinion she was really a supporting character. Should win, Naomi Watts. What went wrong with the promotion of The Impossible? It seems like no one is talking about it. And don’t even get me started on that little girl from Beasts of the Southern Wild. As a rule, children should not be nominated. The Oscars should bring back the young adult or rising star Oscar. Quvenzhané Wallis was good but it was all reactions shots. Was she better than Nicole Kidman in The Paperboy or better than Marion Cotillard in Rust and Bone? I think not. If I were them, I’d be pissed. 

Best Director

Winner will be Steven Spielberg. If he gets it he should give it to Ben Affleck even though I don’t agree with all the bru ha ha about Argo. If anyone made a movie that was pure cinema – a film that had great characters, had visually stunning effects and showed you something you’ve never seen before – it was Ang Lee

Best Supportive Actress

Winner will be Anne Hathaway. Should win Anne Hathaway. What will be exciting is to watch Anne Hathaway carry on as though she’s surprised and then act as if she’s won Best Actress. I would kill for an upset in this category. Give it to Amy Adams or even Sally Field.

Best Supporting Actor

Winner will be Robert Deniro. I’m going out on a limb because out of everyone in Silver Linings Playbook, I though Deniro was the most touching of all. 

So there you have it. 

I wish I could say that I’m getting more excited as the Oscars approach but I’m not. Good luck to all, and I’m sorry Frankenweenie. You’re going to lose to Brave

